Saturday, April 13, 2024

Two Teams Disqualified from Abu Garcia College Fishing National Championship


Major League Fishing (MLF) announced updated results from the 2024 Abu Garcia College Fishing Presented by YETI National Championship at Lake Toho after two teams were disqualified.

Following the conclusion of the event, evidence was presented to MLF Tournament Director Kevin Hunt that the University of Montevallo team of Brandon Berry and Hunter Bright, as well as the Dallas Baptist University team of Braxon Hightower and Luke Wenger, had violated rule No. 12, which states that “ Alabama rigs and similar umbrella-type rigs are limited to a maximum of five wires with a maximum of five spinners, five lures and three hooks (single or treble) unless state regulations are more restrictive, in which case state regulations prevail.”

As a result of the violations, each team’s catch during both days of the weather-shortened event was disqualified.

The University of Montevallo team of Berry and Bright finished third in the event and were slated to advance to the 2024 Toyota Series Championship to compete as co-anglers for a shot at winning a $33,500 Phoenix 518 Pro with a 115-horsepower outboard. As a result of this disqualification, the University of Montevallo team of Nicholas Dumke and Easton Fothergill move from fourth place into the third-place spot and will advance to the 2024 Toyota Series Championship to compete as co-anglers.

“This is tragic for both teams who inadvertently violated the rule,” said Kevin Hunt, MLF Tournament Director. “However, we have an obligation to our anglers and the sport to enforce the rules, in letter and intent, without exception. We encourage all our anglers to know and understand the rules for each circuit and tournament they participate in and to adhere to those rules to ensure a quality tournament.”

Updated standings for the top 10 teams on Lake Toho are:

1st:     Adrian College – Braylon Eggerding and Lucas Washburn, both of Grand Rapids, Mich., 10 bass, 42-4, $43,500
2nd:    Campbellsville University – Carter Doren of Las Vegas, Nev., and Ryan Lachniet of Gum Spring, Va., 10 bass, 42-3, $33,500
3rd:     University of Montevallo – Nicholas Dumke and Easton Fothergill, both of Grand Rapids, Minn., 10 bass, 38-9, $3,000
4th:     Emmanuel University – Robert Miller of Savannah, Ga., and John Micheal Ortman of Douglas, Ga., 10 bass, 38-4, $2,000
5th:     Florida Gateway College – Bryson O’Steen of Live Oak, Fla., 10 bass, 37-3, $1,000
6th:     University of Montevallo – Neal Braddy of Ailey, Ga., and Merritt Arnold of Watkinsville, Ga., 10 bass, 37-0, $1,000
7th:     Carson-Newman University – Ben Cully of Rockwall, Texas, and Hayden Gaddis of Seymour, Tenn., 10 bass, 36-8, $1,000
8th:     Tarleton State-Stephenville – Garett Cadenhead of Fort Worth, Texas, and Jared Mizell of Pearland, Texas, 10 bass, 36-3, $1,000
9th:      Adrian College – Gerald Brumbaugh of Martinsburgh, Penn., and Mitchell Straffon of Fenton, Mich., 10 bass, 35-0, $1,000
10th:   University of North Alabama – Dylan Nutt and Carter Nutt of Nashville, Tenn., 10 bass, 34-12, $1,000

For complete details and updated tournament information, visit For regular College Fishing updates, photos, tournament news and more, follow MLF5’s social media outlets at Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.

Share post:


More like this

Rookie Marshall Robinson Wins Group B Qualifying Round at Stage Three at Dale Hollow Lake

South Carolina pro catches two-day total of 115-11 to...

Garrett’s gamble delivers Day 1 lead at Bassmaster Elite Series event on Harris Chain of Lakes 

Tennessee's John Garrett has taken the lead on Day...

Anglers may broaden the search during MAXAM Tire Bassmaster Elite at St. Johns River

While 2022's Bassmaster Elite at the St. John's River was a prespawn/spawn...