Adam Richardson Wins Wildcard Event

Print This Post Print This Post

North Carolina hosted their last qualifier of the 2017 season with six state team spots left. The top three boaters and top three non-boaters advance. Forty-Nine Boaters and Non-boaters were vying for the top three spots available to compete at the 2018 BASS Regional hosted by B.A.S.S. with all hoping to continue on the road to qualify for a shot at the BASSMASTER CLASSIC!

Adam Richardson of the Hog Snatchers Bass Masters led from Day 1 to the end of the tourney, AGAIN! His first day catch of 16.17 gave him the extra nudge he needed. On Day 2 he brought 12.37 pounds to the scale to seal the deal! Not only was he was crowned the CHAMPION of the event but was also the 2017 NC B.A.S.S. Nation Eastern Regional Boater Champion by in May. Adam is flexing his muscle in 2017 and out to prove he is here to stay as a force in this exciting sport.

Adam was again challenged however by a couple of anglers. Randy Groves and Chuck Murray of the Sandy Creek Bassmasters finished second and third in the event by bringing 26.29 lbs and 25.74 lbs to the scales clinching their way to the state’s 20 man team to compete at the next level. Due to Adam’s double qualification, it left one remaining spot on the team available. JT Palmore captured the 4th spot by bringing 25.00 to the scales. These anglers have punched their ticket to the B.A.S.S. Eastern Regional hosted by B.A.S.S. in order to qualify to the National Championship vying to make it to the BASS Master CLASSIC!

As a believe it or not moment, the last time a qualifier was held on Lake Gaston, Randy Groves, Chuck Murray and JT Palmore had a 123 finish! How many times can that happen? Only time will tell.

On the non-boater side, Mikey Anderson lapped the field to claim his first non-boater championship with a two day weight of 17.84 pounds. This is his first championship and his first time making it to the state team and the “Big Dance” as we call it. Jeffrey Davis took second place on the non-boater side with a two day total of 13.95 pounds and third place went to Aaron Digh who caught 13.39 lbs. These three anglers will represent the NCBN as non-boaters at the 2018 BASS Regional hosted by B.A.S.S.

Triton Big Fish Honors were Day 1 (boater) Dale Luckey 5.99 lbs; (non-boater) Eric Lochner 5.04 lbs
Lowrance Big Bass award Day 2 (boater) Adam Haithcock 6.16 lbs (non-boater) Ronnie Bridgers 3.10 lbs

Special thanks go out to Lenny and Vicky Smathers, Lori Murray, Danny Hayes, Roger thomas and Allison Wright and others for their hard work as helpers during the tourney.


Adam Richardson28.29
Randy Groves26.29
Chuck Murray25.74
JT Palmore25.00
Jeff Hager23.71
Allen White23.13
Jeremy Sabo22.02
Raymond Jones21.97
Adam Petty20.50
Mike Belter19.42
Dale Luckey18.76
Patrick King18.36
Adam Haithcock17.31
Ivan Morris15.90
Tim Wiltfong15.43
Mike Marion14.60
Trey Nanney14.26
Tommy Chapman13.77
Mark Swink12.96
Carl Enos12.24
Keith Patterson11.67
Zack Blayock11.28
George Lambert10.56
Rob Digh10.22
Eric Schell10.12
Aaron Hardee9.82
Jeff Farmer9.77
Darrell Pons Jr9.38
Jay Wright9.27
Craig Scalf9.26
Jeff Narron8.84
Greg Creech8.41
Alden Patterson7.21
Jim Sampson6.50
Alan Haigh5.28
Phil Bain5.21
Ethan Howard5.10
Jerry Draper4.87
William Frazier3.79
Coy Riggins3.54
Jim Sheehan2.93
Scotty Kinney1.99
Mitch Burgin1.38
Thaigo Moreira1.34
John Jackson1.20
Mike Nadeau
Kyle Joyce
Jerry Deese

Mikey Anderson17.84
Jeffrey Davis13.95
Aaron Digh13.39
Mike Bankes12.03
Chris Moss10.14
John K Mayo9.19
David Swain8.39
Ryan Hayes7.85
Eric Lochner6.27
Eddie Yahya6.26
Matt Priode6.22
Ronnie Bridgers5.83
DJ Timms5.48
Jacob Steele5.24
Daniel Jenkins5.06
Julian Doby4.92
Dean Copeland4.12
Jason Tew3.88
Scott Spencer3.82
Ken Brady3.77
Tony Gupton3.13
John W. Mayo3.03
Clifton Jenkins2.98
Nick Kincaid2.83
John Harrell2.70
JJ Morse2.31
Samantha Gay2.00
Greg Skerven1.98
Dewey Castleberry1.71
John Orchard1.48
Bud Amend1.41
Scott Shrewsbury1.41
Randy Parker1.32
Brent Enos1.31
Matt Little1.21
Brian Reneau1.14
Daniel Norman
Dekota Shaw
David Martin
Andy Evans
Keith Thompson
Chris Martin
Reggie Guffey
Joseph Campbell
Billy Scoggins
Brandon Honaker
Matt Fuhr
Marvin Edwards


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here