Print This Post Print This Post

SANDUSKY, Ohio (Aug. 3, 2020) – The Bowling Green State University team of Jamesen Simion of Saline, Michigan, and Cameron Wilt of Alvada, Ohio, won the Abu Garcia College Fishing presented by YETI at Lake Erie event Friday with a five-bass limit weighing 16 pounds, 1 ounce. The victory earned the Bowling Green bass club $2,000 and qualified them to compete in the 2021 College Fishing National Championship.

The Falcons duo won by a thin 2-ounce margin over the second-place team of Blake Johnson and Zachary Graham from Adrian College, who weighed in five bass totaling 15 pounds, 15 ounces. The tournament launched from the Shelby Street Boat Launch in Sandusky, Ohio.

The top 10 teams that advanced to the 2021 College Fishing National Championship are:

1st:       Bowling Green State University – Jamesen Simion, Saline, Mich., and Cameron Wilt, Alvada, Ohio, five bass, 16-1, $2,000

2nd:      Adrian College – Blake Johnson, Mooresville, Ind., and Zachary Graham, Gallipolis, Ohio, five bass, 15-15, $1,000

3rd:       Adrian College – Alex Henderson, Adrian, Mich., and Griffin Fernandes, McCordsville, Ind., five bass, 15-10, $500

4th:       Adrian College – Tyler VanBrandt, Morenci, Mich., and Jarrod Layton, Maybee, Mich., five bass, 15-2, $500

5th:       Kent State University – Tanner Ward, Coshocton, Ohio, five bass, 14-13, $500

6th:       Adrian College – Shane Nelson, Wadsworth, Ohio, and Sean Mercier, Brighton, Mich., five bass, 14-10

7th:       Adrian College – Hunter Schneider, Milin, Ind., and Brayden Federer, Deerfield, Mich., five bass, 14-7

8th:       Adrian College – Cody Batterson, Pleasant Hill, Iowa, and Matthew Davis, Coloma, Mich., five bass, 14-1

9th:       University of Rio Grande – Eli Daniels, Portsmouth, Ohio, and Evan Bowman, Gallipolis, Ohio, five bass, 14-1

10th:     Ramapo College – Alex Johnson, Milltown, N.J., and Zachary Potter, Haddon Township, N.J., five bass, 13-13

Complete results for the entire field can be found at

The Abu Garcia College Fishing presented by YETI event on Lake Erie was hosted by the City of Sandusky. It was the second of three regular-season qualifying tournaments for Northern Conference anglers. The next events for College Fishing anglers will be on Aug. 21 – the Abu Garcia College Fishing presented by YETI at the Mississippi River in La Crosse, Wisconsin, and the Abu Garcia College Fishing presented by YETI at the California Delta in Oakley, California.

Abu Garcia College Fishing presented by YETI teams compete in regular-season qualifying tournaments in one of five conferences – Central, Northern, Southern, Southeastern and Western. The top ten teams from each division’s three regular-season tournaments and the top 20 teams from the annual Abu Garcia College Fishing Open advance to the following year’s Abu Garcia College Fishing presented by YETI National Championship.

For complete details and updated information visit For regular updates, photos, tournament news and more, follow the Abu Garcia College Fishing presented by YETI on FLW’s social media outlets at Facebook, TwitterInstagram, and YouTube.

About FLW
FLW is the world’s largest tournament-fishing organization, providing anglers of all skill levels the opportunity to compete for millions in prize money across five tournament circuits. Headquartered in Benton, Kentucky, FLW and its partners conduct more than 290 bass-fishing tournaments annually around the world, including the United States, Canada, China, Italy, South Korea, Mexico, Namibia, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, and Zimbabwe.

FLW tournament fishing can be seen on the Emmy-nominated “FLW” television show while Bass Fishing magazine delivers cutting-edge tips from top pros. Acquired by Major League Fishing in late 2019, FLW is expanding its programming in 2020 to the Outdoor Channel and the Sportsman Channel as well as on-demand at MyOutdoorTV (MOTV).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here