Lance  Collins Wins on Oconee

March 15,2020, Buckhead, GA. Lance Collins from Monticello, GA wins the Bass Pro Shops Fishing Tour Division 72 tournament held by American Bass Anglers.

Lance Collins of Monticello, GA brought the winning sack weighing 17.64 pounds to the scale on Lake Oconee.

Lance said he caught his five fish limit on spinnerbaits.

He secured his first place trophy and $735.00 cash with a lunker weighing 5.32 pounds.

Lance took the trophy for Big Bass and additional cash of $350.00 for the optional big bass pot.

Kim Carver finished a close second place with his five fish limit weighing 17.36 pounds.

Kim took home the second place trophy and $461.00 cash.

Derek Johnson took home the third place trophy and $195.00 cash with a scale weight of 14.02 pounds.

Fourth place cash of $144.00 went to Brian Hyde, fifth place cash of $108.00 went to Roger Stubbs, and sixth place cash of $72.00 went to Grant Kelly.

There were 35 anglers competing for cash, trophies, points, and bragging rights.

The water is starting to settle from the heavy rain last month.

All fish caught were released alive.

Congratulations to the Top Ten:

1 – Lance Collins          17.64 pounds
2 – Kim Carver             17.36 pounds
3 – Derek Johnson       14.02 pounds
4 – Brian Hyde             13.85 pounds
5 – Roger Stubbs         13.04 pounds
6 – Grant Kelly             12.40 pounds
7 – Chad Stahl             11.84 pounds
8 – Barry Hooper         11.39 pounds
9 – Randy Bush           10.98 pounds
10 – Jerry Jones          10.86 pounds

Director Benny Howell gave draw prizes to the anglers present at the conclusion of the awards.

Two $50.00 bills were won by Carl Pennington and Barry Collins.

A $50.00 Sugar Creek Marina gift card was won by Ken Daniels.

Assistant Director Danny Taylor continues to keep our tournaments running smoothly by checking boats in the morning and weighing fish in the afternoon.

Thank you Danny!

The next tournament for D72 will be April 26, 2020 on Lake Sinclair going out of Dennis Station.

If you need information, please contact Director Benny Howell at (770)365-4795.

These anglers earn valuable points toward the divisional Angler of the Year (AOY) title.

The points champion from each division will compete in the annual American Bass Anglers (ABA) Bass Pro Shops Fishing Tour (BPSFT) Angler of The Year (AOY) Final Round at the BPSFT National Championship.

In addition, the top 500 anglers from the various divisions will earn the right to compete in the three-day ABA, BPSFT National Championship tournament.

The Bass Pro Shops Fishing Tour offers low cost, close to home bass tournaments that are designed for the weekend angler.

All anglers fish for both money and points. The points advance the angler to their divisional championship and the top 500 anglers in the U.S. are invited to the Bass Pro Shops Fishing Tour (BPSFT) National Championship.

American Bass Anglers is sponsored by: Bass Pro Shops, Triton Boats, Mercury Marine, Nitro Boats, Tracker Boats, MotorGuide, Garmin, T-H Marine, Abu Garcia, Berkley, Engel Coolers, Lucas Oil, Optima Batteries, Maui Jim, Monster Energy, and Power-Pole.

Mailing address: American Bass Anglers, Inc, PO Box 475, Athens, AL 35612 PH (256) 232-0406.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here