Tuesday, June 18, 2024



DENISON, Texas (Feb. 21, 2015) – The Central Oklahoma University team of Colten Hutson of Edmond, Oklahoma, and Brock Enmeier of Enid, Oklahoma, won the FLW College Fishing Southern Conference event on Lake Texoma Saturday with a five-bass limit weighing 13 pounds, 15 ounces. The victory earned the club $2,000 and advanced the team to the FLW College Fishing Southern Conference Championship tournament.
“This is unbelievable,” said Hutson, a sophomore majoring in Mechanical Engineering. “To go out there today and represent Central Oklahoma and get the win feels awesome.”
“Our whole goal coming in to this tournament was to qualify for the Conference Championship on our home waters of Grand Lake,” said Enmeier, a senior majoring in Industrial Safety. “Today was pretty sweet.”
The duo won handily, as they were the only team to bring a limit to the scales on the finicky Texoma. A strong morning wind forced the team to scrap their early plans and change their strategy. They found success targeting one specific brush pile near the back of Buncombe Creek.
“We moved to the brush pile around 8:30 a.m. and we ended up not leaving it all day,” Enmeier said. “It was about a 100-yard long stretch, and we fished it from 4- to 14-feet deep. We ended up catching seven keepers throughout the day.”
The club said that they managed to catch one fish on a green pumpkin-colored jig, but the other six keepers came on a Texas-rigged Big Bite Baits Yomama, in both green pumpkin and watermelon red flake.
The top 15 teams that advanced to the Southern Conference Championship tournament on Grand Lake are:
  1st:       Central Oklahoma University – Colten Hutson, Edmond, Okla., and Brock Enmeier, Enid, Okla. (five bass, 13-15, $2,000)
  2nd:      Southwestern Oklahoma State University – Mitchell Decker, Coweta, Okla., and Dalton Warrington, Thomas, Okla. (two bass, 11-4, $1,000)
  3rd:       Tarleton State University – Marshall Hughes, Port Neches, Texas, and Tanner Crim, Devine, Texas (four bass, 11-2, $500)
  4th:       Southeastern Oklahoma State University – Dwight Camp, Talihina, Okla., and Jonathan Furlong, Bixby, Okla. (four bass, 10-7, $500)
  5th:       Angelo State University – Logan Clark and Blake Turner, both of San Angelo, Texas (two bass, 6-13, $500)
  6th:       University of Arkansas – Drew Porto and Zachary Pickle, both of Fayetteville, Ark. (three bass, 5-12)
  7th:       Texas A&M University – Josh Bensema, Willis, Texas, and Matthew McArdle, College Station, Texas (three bass, 5-7)
  8th:       Texas A&M University-Galveston – Garrett Goettee, Tomball, Texas, and Hugh Keller, Houston, Texas (one bass, 5-3)
  9th:       Stephen F. Austin State University – Easton Heigley, Brookeland, Texas, and Hunter Price, Nacogdoches, Texas (one bass, 4-13)
  10th:     Henderson State University – Michael Gross, Gurdon, Ark., and Cobey Wingfield, Malvern, Ark. (one bass, 4-10)
  11th:     Texas A&M University – Garrett Nance, Pearland, Texas, and James Wittenborn, Haskell, Texas (two bass, 3-7)
  12th:     Northeastern State University – Cody Metzger and Michael King, both of Wagoner, Okla. (two bass, 3-6)
  13th:     Stephen F. Austin State University – Jay Lawson, Corrigan, Texas, and Matthew Anthony, Colleyville, Texas (two bass, 3-0)
  14th:     Colorado Mesa University – Josh Worth, Grand Junction, Colo., and Kennedy Kinkade, Midvale, Utah (one bass, 2-13)
  15th:     Texas A&M University-Texarkana – Josh Cole and Logan Byrd, both of Texarkana, Texas (one bass, 2-8)
Complete results can be found at CollegeFishing.com.
This FLW College Fishing Southern Conference tournament was hosted by the Denison Area Chamber of Commerce and was the second regular-season qualifying tournament. The next event for Southern Conference anglers is scheduled for September 19 at the Red River in Natchitoches, Louisiana, and is hosted by the City of Natchitoches.
FLW College Fishing teams compete in qualifying tournaments in one of five conferences – Central, Northern, Southern, Southeastern and Western. The top fifteen teams from each regular-season tournament will qualify for one of five Conference Championship tournaments. The top ten teams from each of the five Conference Championship tournaments will advance to the 2016 FLW College Fishing National Championship.
College Fishing is free to enter. All participants must be registered, full-time students at a college, university or community college and members of a fishing club recognized by their college or university.
For regular updates, photos, tournament news and more, follow College Fishing on Facebook at Facebook.com/FLWFishing and on Twitter at Twitter.com/FLWFishing. Visit CollegeFishing.com to sign up or to start a club at your school.

Share post:


More like this

Dave Miller’s May 2024 Monthly Recap

Dave Miller’s May 2024 Recap What’s up fishing fans! So...

Burroughs and Rowland Tie for the Win at Phoenix Bass Fishing League Event at Clarks Hill Lake

Boater winners Jason Burroughs of Hodges, South Carolina, and...

China Grove’s Smith Works Offshore for Win at Phoenix Bass Fishing League Event at High Rock Lake

Boater winner Ronnie Smith of China Grove, North Carolina, and...

Minimal Footprint Rain Gear 

Minimal Footprint Rain Gear  Whitewater Fishing’s Packable Rain Jacket and...