Thursday, May 23, 2024





CHAUTAUQUA, N.Y. (July 21, 2015) – FLW College Fishing is headed to Lake Chautauqua August 1 for the third and final regular-season stop of 2015 in the Northern Conference. A full field of college teams will be competing for a top award of $2,000 and a berth in the Northern Conference Championship tournament.
“Lake Chautauqua is a beautiful lake,” said Ohio State University angler Brett Warrick, who along with partner Sidney Hoover won the FLW College Fishing event on Lake Chautauqua last season. “It’s surrounded by hills and woods and is a very scenic area. There are a lot of docks and grass, and I think they both will play a role for anglers in this tournament.
“The very northern end or very southern end of the lake seem to be the most popular areas to fish,” Warrick continued. “On the northern end, you’ve got docks all over. On the southern end there are a few docks, but that is where you find the majority of the grass and lily pads to work with, along with the Chadakoin River.”
Warrick said that the key for college anglers in this tournament would be their timing – getting on the right docks or grass areas at the right times when the bigger bass are moving in.
“You’ve got to be there at the right time because they are moving in and out all day long,” Warrick said. “Most of our fish last year came from 4 feet of water or less. We won the tournament using a jig and a weightless worm. I think those will still be popular baits, but teams are also going to catch them on spinnerbaits and frogs.
“Our winning total of 17 pounds last year was pretty average,” Warrick went on to say. “I think that the winning team this year will have more – 17 to 21 pounds.”
Anglers will take off from Long Point State Park located at 4459 Route 430 in Bemus Point, N.Y., at 6:30 a.m. Saturday. Weigh-in will be held at the State Park beginning at 2:30 p.m. Takeoff and weigh-in are free and open to the public.
Schools competing in the Lake Chautauqua tournament, which is hosted by Chautauqua County Visitors Bureau, include:
Adrian College – Caleb Taylor, Zionsville, Ind., and Jacob Bayer, Westfield, Mich.
Adrian College – Jarrett Martin, Gallipolis, Ohio, and Jeff Morton, Troy, Mich.
Adrian College – Nickolas Marsh, Commerce Township, Mich., and Zack Nelson, Northville, Mich.
Albertus Magnus College – Landon Holl and John Barrickman, both of Green, Ohio
Bryant University – Zachary Jendrysik, Agawan, Mass., and Douglas Remick, Wrentham, Mass.
Carnegie Mellon University – Eric Bykowsky, Columbia, S.C., and Ro Reynolds, Lutherville, Md.
Central Michigan University – Brandon Carman, Remus, Mich., and Hayden Gosen, Sanford, Mich.
Fairmont State University – Andrew Walker, Fairmont, W. Va., and Michael Barnett, Morgantown, W. Va.
Fairmont State University – Landon Paul and Ryan Houser, both of Fairmont, W. Va.
Kent State University – Matthew Holsinger, Massillon, Ohio, and Dante Gramuglia, Middlefield, Ohio
Mansfield University of Pennsylvania – Alec Engleman, Milton, Pa., and Bryan Rupp, Archbald, Pa.
Mansfield University of Pennsylvania – James Grassi, Cabot, Pa., and Ryan Fluharty, Perkiomenville, Pa.
Michigan State University – Kenny Bennett, Sterling Heights, Mich., and Seth Gibson, Union City, Mich.
Ohio Northern University – Cole Cochran, Troy, Ohio, and Austin Hostetler, Strasburg, Ohio
Ohio State University – Jeremy McLaughlin, Wheelersburg, Ohio, and Kain Fadeley, New Philadelphia, Ohio
Pennsylvania State University – Anthony Kashiwsky, Aliquippa, Pa., and Ben Barcaskey, Moon Township, Pa.
Pennsylvania State University – Sean Cummins, Huntingdon, Pa., and Maurice Hudson, Broomall, Pa.
Ramapo College – Mike Concato, Clifton, N.J., and Andrew Annuzzi, Oldbrige, N.J.
Rochester Institute of Technology – Jason Karol and John Henderson, both of Rochester, N.Y.
Shenandoah University – Thomas Arens and Billy Arens, both of Purcellville, Va.
Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania – Tyler Sheppard, Hermitage, Pa., and Kyle Brown, Wexford, Pa.
Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania – Billy Hines, Erie, Pa., and Logan Pollman, Slippery Rock, Pa.
State University of New York-Environmental Science and Forestry – Lukas Matt, Syracuse, N.Y., and Caleb Konrad, Brooklyn, N.Y.
University of Akron – Kevin Arnold, Copley, Ohio, and Christian Combs, Norton, Ohio
University of Dayton – Jacob Clancy, Rochester, N.Y., and Matthew Odre, Hamburg, N.Y.
University of Dayton – Robert Petrick, Pittsburgh, Pa., and Sam Tunnacliffe, West Chester, Ohio
University of Maine – Brian Volkernick, Dixfield, Maine, and Cody Rubner, Acton, Mass.
Vermont Technical College – Zebulon Davis, Ira, Vt., and Tyler Lambert, Bow, N.H.
West Chester University of Pennsylvania – Thomas Arena, Carlisle, Pa., and Courtney Getz, Palmerton, Pa.
West Virginia University – Jacob Marshall, Catonsville, Md., and Matthew Combs, Huber Heights, Ohio
Xavier University – Alex Vaisvil, Saint Charles, Ill., and Stephen Todd, Cary, Ill.
Youngstown State University – Stan Miketa, New Middletown, Ohio, and Charles Cremeans, Youngstown, Ohio
FLW College Fishing teams compete in qualifying tournaments in one of five conferences – Central, Northern, Southern, Southeastern and Western. The top fifteen teams from each regular-season tournament will qualify for one of five Conference Championship tournaments. The top ten teams from each of the five Conference Championship tournaments will advance to the 2016 FLW College Fishing National Championship.
College Fishing is free to enter. All participants must be registered, full-time students at a college, university or community college and members of a fishing club recognized by their college or university.
For regular updates, photos, tournament news and more, follow College Fishing on Facebook at and on Twitter at Visit to sign up or to start a club at your school.

Share post:


More like this